Rustam Aliev

Partner, Real Estate and Construction

Rustam Aliev joined BCLP at the end of 2013. Prior to joining the firm, Rustam practiced with Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld. 

Rustam’s practice focuses on domestic and international M&A, investment and private equity work. He has advised on many high-profile transactions in various sectors and has a particularly strong experience in real estate and infrastructure, energy and natural resources and retail sectors. 

Rustam is highly regarded by clients, and is consistently recognized as a leading practitioner by Chambers & Partners and Legal 500: “Clients note his confident handling of complex transactions, with one stating: "He understands a client's needs perfectly," and acts "in a timely and diligent manner.” (Chambers Europe 2020). Rustam is "has strong negotiation skills, a sharp mind, and in-depth knowledge of issues arising in relation to real estate and corporate law." (The Legal 500 2020). 

For several years in a row, Rustam has been selected by peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in Russia and was named Lawyer of the Year in 2017. Rustam is also recommended for real estate by Who’s Who Legal directory.

Noted for in-depth knowledge of his practice area, Rustam has authored a number of articles for legal and industry-focused publications. He regularly lectures on various legal and professional services’ topics to students of leading universities and industry professionals and teaches a course on Real Estate in Business and Law in the MSU Law Masters’ School (Moscow State University). 

Some of Rustam’s projects include:

  • Advised Wainbridge Estates Limited on establishing of several complex joint venture and investment structures that will focus on development of hotels and serviced apartments in Cote-d’Azur, France and Saint Barthélemy, including arrangements with the hotel operator, the trade mark licence arrangement in connection with the brand for the hotel use, and the arrangements on the development with the development manager.
  • Advised Leader Invest/Etalon (AFK Sistema) in connection with sale of an office building to Raiffeisenbank for establishment of national headquarters in Moscow, Russia (largest built-to-suit sale of the year).
  • Advised Westminster Property Ventures on sale of the Tsentralnaya Hotel, the famous 19th century Filippov house on Tverskaya Street (Moscow, Russia), to IHI plc, owners of the Malta-based Corinthia Hotels Group, and its Russian partners. The Buyer plans to renovate the building into a luxury Corinthia Hotel and branded serviced apartments for sale.
  • Advised a JV structure (Vi Holding, RDIF and other sovereign wealth funds from China and the Middle East, including RCIF, the Silk Road Fund, Mubadala) on a series of EPC contracts and related documentation for Tushino Waterfront Mixed-Use Development (the largest innovation cluster in Russia, including residential properties, stadium, sports and social infrastructure, research and educational facilities and recreation zones of approximately 1 million sq. m) with investment circ. USD 1.5 bn.
  • Advised a multinational leading diversified natural resources company on acquisition of one of the largest refineries in Europe from a Fortune 500 company and a joint venture with  one of the leading Japanese general trading companies.
  • Advised an X5 Retail Group – an LSE listed company and Russia’s biggest food retailer - on acquiring of several hundred stores in Central and Volga regions of Russia.
  • Advised a consortium of sovereign wealth funds on acquisition of shares in one of the largest pharmaceutical companies in Russia and CIS and a joint venture with existing shareholders.
  • Advised UFG Real Estate Russia (a leading real estate private equity fund (owners and asset managers) in Russia) and Orientir Development (former Logopark Development – a leading industrial park developer in Russia) in connection with sale of Sever-2 logistics park located in Moscow Region to Raven Russia, a London Stock Exchange-listed property investment company with a Russian property portfolio valued at USD 1.64 bn.
  • Advised a private equity fund on a buy-in management buy-out (BIMBO) in a pharmacy chain, one of Russia’s leading medical and beauty products retailers and a publically traded pharmacy retail network in Russia.
  • Advised on acquisition by Rossium group (MCB Capital) of a 90.99% stake in ONEXIM's PJSС OPIN (a publically traded company) and other real estate and agricultural assets of ONEXIM GROUP (portfolio of over 50 companies in multiple jurisdictions and over 3 000 real estate and agricultural assets).
  • Advised Capital Group on acquisition of a site from the Moscow Government and a joint venture in connection with development of a multi-use complex located on Balchug island in the very centre of Moscow (also known as Golden Island) with investments around 25-30 billion RUB (circ. USD 600 million).
  • Advised PNK Group on sale of several hundred thousand square meters of warehousing property in Moscow Region to SAFMAR Group (largest warehouse deal of the year).
  • Advised Capital Group on USD 450 million sale of office premises in downtown Moscow (Legend of Tsvetnoy) to O1 Properties.
  • Advised a joint venture partner of the Georgian Co-investment Fund on multiple joint venture arrangements, further development and operation of a hydro power plant in Georgia, CIS.
  • Advised Millhouse on USD 750 million acquisition of the office building in Moscow (White Gardens) from AIG Lincoln.




The Legal 500 - The Clients Guide to Law Firms

Рустам Алиев

Партнер

Рустам Алиев присоединился к команде BCLP в конце 2013 года. До прихода в фирму он вел практику в Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld. 

Рустам cпециализируется в области российских и международных сделок M&A и прямых инвестиций. Он имеет богатый опыт сопровождения резонансных сделок в различных отраслях, в особенности в секторе недвижимости и инфраструктуры, энергетики и природных ресурсов, а также розничной торговли. 

Рустам пользуется заслуженным доверием и признанием клиентов, а юридические справочники Chambers & Partners и Legal 500 регулярно отмечают его в числе ведущих юристов (leading practitioner): «Клиенты ценят уверенность, с которой Рустам проводит сложнейшие сделки, отмечая, что «он великолепно понимает потребности клиента» и отличается «пунктуальностью и особой аккуратностью в юридических вопросах» (Chambers Europe 2020), «Его отличают блестящие навыки ведения переговоров, острый ум и доскональное понимание вопросов, возникающих в сфере недвижимости и  корпоративного права.» (The Legal 500 2020). 

На протяжении нескольких лет подряд Рустам входит в список лучших юристов России по версии юридического сообщества (The Best Lawyers), а в 2017 году получил награду «Юрист года». Он также отмечен в числе рекомендованных юристов в сфере недвижимости по версии справочника Who’s Who Legal.

Рустам известен доскональным пониманием отраслевой специфики. Он является автором ряда статей для юридических и отраслевых изданий, регулярно читает лекции на различные правовые и профессиональные темы для студентов ведущих университетов и практикующих специалистов, а также ведет курс «Недвижимость в бизнесе и в праве» в Школе мастеров Юридического факультета МГУ им. М.В. Ломоносова. 

Некоторые проекты Рустама:

  • Консультирование Wainbridge Estates Limited в рамках нескольких комплексных международных проектов по созданию совместных предприятий и инвестиционных структур для последующего строительства и развития отелей и сервисных апартаментов на Лазурном Берегу (Франция) и Сен-Бартелеми (Карибы), включая заключение соглашений с гостиничным оператором, вопросы лицензионного соглашения на товарный знак и др. 
  • Консультирование Leader Invest/ Etalon (AFK Sistema) в сделке с Райффайзенбанком по продаже офисного здания для размещения национальной штаб-квартиры банка (самая масштабная сделка built-to-suit года на рынке офисной недвижимости).
  • Консультирование Westminster Property Ventures в связи с продажей исторического здания бывшей гостиницы «Центральная» на Тверской улице (знаменитого дома Филлипова XIX в.) компании IHI plc, владеющей мальтийской сетью отелей Corinthia Hotels, и ее российским партнерам.
  • Консультирование структуры СП (группа Vi Holding, РФПИ, суверенные фонды Китая и Ближнего Востока, включая Российско-китайский инвестиционный фонд, Фонд шелкового пути и Mubadala) в отношении ряда EPC контрактов и соответствующей документации по проекту комплексного развития территории Тушино (крупнейший инновационный кластер в России площадью примерно 1 млн кв.м., в состав которого входит жилая недвижимость, спортивно-общественная, научно-образовательная и рекреационная инфраструктура). Объем инвестиций составляет примерно 1,5 млрд долл.США
  • Сопровождение ведущей международной диверсифицированной компании в сфере природных ресурсов в связи с приобретением одного из самых больших в Европе перерабатывающего производства у компании из списка Fortune 500, а также созданием совместного предприятия с крупнейшим японским торговым оператором широкого профиля.
  • Консультирование X5 Retail Group, ведущей российской продуктовой розничной компании, акции которой торгуются на Лондонской фондовой бирже, в связи с приобретением нескольких сотен магазинов в Центральном и Приволжском федеральных округах.
  • Консультирование консорциума суверенных фондов в отношении приобретения акций одной из крупнейших в России и СНГ фармацевтических компаний и учреждения совместного предприятия с существующими акционерами.
  • Сопровождение UFG Real Estate Russia (один из крупнейших фондов прямого инвестирования в недвижимость (владение и управление активами) в России) и Orientir Development (бывший Logopark Development, ведущий девелопер индустриальных парков в России) в связи с продажей подмосковного логистического парка «Север-2» в пользу инвестиционной компании Raven Russia, чьи акции торгуются на Лондонской фондовой бирже, а портфель недвижимости в России оценивается в 1,64 млрд долл. США.
  • Консультирование частного инвестиционного фонда в отношении комбинированного управленческого выкупа (сделка BIMBO) капитала публичной аптечной сети – одного из лидеров на российском рынке розничной торговли медицинской и косметической продукцией.
  • Сопровождение сделки приобретения концерном «Россиум» («МКБ Капитал») 90,99% акций ПАО «ОПИН», а также ряда объектов недвижимости и земельного банка у Группы «ОНЭКСИМ» (в портфеле более 50 компаний из разных юрисдикций и свыше 3 000 объектов недвижимости и сельскохозяйственных активов).
  • Консультирование компании Capital Group в связи с приобретением у Правительства Москвы участка и создания совместного предприятия для строительства многофункционального комплекса в самом центре Москвы на острове Балчуг (также известном как «Золотой Остров»). Размер инвестиций составляет 25-30 млрд руб. (примерно 600 млн долл. США).
  • Консультирование PNK Group в рамках продажи складских объектов площадью несколько сотен тысяч квадратных метров в Московской области группе САФМАР (крупнейшая сделка года на рынке складской недвижимости).
  • Консультирование компании Capital Group в связи с продажей офисных помещений в МФК «Легенда Цветного» в центре Москвы в пользу инвестиционной компании O1 Properties за 450 млн долл. США.
  • Консультирование партнера Фонда соинвестирования Грузии по широкому ряду вопросов в отношении организации совместного предприятия, дальнейшего строительства и эксплуатации гидроэлектростанции в Грузии.
  • Консультирование компании Millhouse в связи с приобретением офисного здания в Москве (БЦ «Белые Сады») у AIG Lincoln за 750 млн долл. США.



The Legal 500 - The Clients Guide to Law Firms